Style

I have been fighting to edit my novel for months now. Recently I realized most of my problems are because I simply do not write that way any more. I have been writing and working on my novel, The Mage’s Daughter, for five years now. In those five years my writing has changed and I hope I can say improved. Going back through the two hundred or so pages of my novel that I wrote while working night shifts or on lunch breaks I fight with my need to rewrite many of the narration. Comparing old and new scenes is like comparing my current writing to the poetry and prose I wrote in high school. While the old writing still holds up, my style of thought has changed and sounds completely different. I am fighting to reconcile the two without losing the fire that made me work on a book for five years straight.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. noxturne
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 13:22:41

    Oof. That’s a tough one. Maybe you should get an editor to do the editing, instead of doing it yourself. This is one of the things I hate is when I write something I’m really proud of, then go back and read it, I mourn my poor language. It’s a difficult situation in which to find yourself.

    Reply

    • Selfmanic
      Jul 05, 2013 @ 13:50:42

      Honestly cannot afford it right now, the couple I priced would have been almost a thousand dollars given the book is almost 200 pages. I have asked a few online friends and they said this was high but the lowest I have seen is three hundred.

      Reply

      • noxturne
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 13:53:20

        Three hundred isn’t bad at all, that’s kind of what I was thinking it would cost. Doing it yourself is really hard and it’s forcing you to make choices you might not normally make as well as taking up too much time from your other stuff. I don’t know that you have a lot of other options, though.

Leave a Reply

