What does your Muse look like?

What does your Muse look like?

Mine is my alter ego. A warrior woman who turned her pain and scars into strength and art. Who wears her history on her skin with pride and is still learning how to trust after being hurt too often growing up. Whipcord strong she strides through my mind like a soldier or slips from shadow to shadow as the grinning thief.

She is the one watching with knowing eyes, whispering, “This is going to hurt.” before wading into a fight. She is the one comfortable in a fight, acknowloging that some things will hurt but often the pain is simply a sacrifice so that someone else will not have to endure it. Her name is Lorn after Lore, she is her history and has embraced and used that past to define herself but not allow it to be the only part of herself.

She is the sarcastic voice in my head ripping those around me to shreds. Yet she also knows when to be silent and let herself fade into the background, overlooked until the next soft comment is uttered.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. noxturne
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 14:39:25

    My muse is a short redheaded bard named Jamison Redbird, that I played in D&D and enjoyed so much that it got me to writing stories about him which in turn got me writing again. He’s a coward, much like myself, but is more than willing to do what needs to be done. He is also my writing prompt, i can hammer out a story with his character in a couple of hours and so I use his stuff to get me in the mood to write, then I write something else.

    Reply

    • Selfmanic
      Mar 05, 2013 @ 14:48:52

      Yeah, Lorn is my go to character who I start out most of my stories with. Later the character morphs into it’s own version but at first it is always Lorn.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

