Writing

Finally getting some work done on my book. I have then finishing scenes planned out and ready to be typed up. I have two reviewers lined up once I get everything done and take it to the printers since my last printer died trying to print it.

The only thing I am now lacking is a title for the two books.

Debating on doing one word titles with a tag line, like:

Shattered: Book 1 of the Story of Mage

Locked: Book 2 of the Story of Mage

Or Book 1 of the Bond Mates Saga…or….An Outside Party: Book 1 of…?

Ugh. Help? Suggestions?

#writingasides

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. johannespunkt
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 18:19:19

    Do you have a clear genre? I will share a tip; I forget where I read it.

    Find a bunch of other books in your specific genre (Amazon makes this easy) and then, with those things in mind, start describing your novel as succinctly as possible – in one to five words. It is good to use symbols and to hint at the recurring themes of your work. You want something that both fits in and stands out, of course. Something that makes images grow in the mind of the casual glancer.

    I like having titles that are definitely about the work, but which are never mentioned in the story. The drabble Salt (http://zombiesintelligently.com/2012/11/29/salt/) is about the ocean, for example.

    Chapter titles are a different fish altogether.

    Reply

  2. Selfmanic
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 18:29:58

    Thanks, Johannes. Yes, that is about what I am doing. My genre is Fantasy. Nothing is ringing true right now, going to take some work. My problem is the main themes in the book are change, abandonment, growth, and love.

    Reply

  3. johannespunkt
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 11:58:12

    Hm hm, alright. Which subgenre of fantasy? I’m guessing it is not high fantasy (which would do well with /an X of Y/ title, if you have a catching enough image) mostly due to the themes you mentioned. They make me think of the imge of a family. Is it young adult? Dark fantasy? Sword and sorcery?

    Is there any work of poetry (preferably one with slightly odd turns of phrases) that you feel gives off the same vibe or tone as your work? Could you borrow a line from that poem?

    Reply

    • Selfmanic
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 12:23:14

      Subgenre would be Young Adult/Sorcery and Sword.
      Here is my blurb.

      “After a life in almost slavery, a Mage finds that she has to forge her own way before she can be chained again. Forces from all sides are seeking to use her power and it will be up to her whether or not she stands and fights or runs from her past. It will take all her knowledge and skill to stay alive in this time of war, political intrigue, and magic.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

